Still here

October 5, 2009

I’m still here….and still struggling.  I vacillate between being super motivated and super unmotivated and ready to throw in the towel.  I read all these other blogs about people who have paid off their debts or are $2000 away from paying off their debt, and I just don’t think that can ever be me.  I mean, we are barely able to pay the minimum and that’s not going to get us near to paying them off.  I guess another thing is that being debt free isn’t really THAT important to me.  I mean, I want to be debt free, but I I don’t want to be obsessed about it.  How do I find the right perspective on it?

2 Responses to “Still here”

  1. 01SP03 said

    Obsessing over debt is never fun. Often time we obsess because we feel lost and/or out of control. Having a simple written plan worked for me and it has kept me focused on my goals for two years. In my plan I customized each step from Dave Ramsey’s 7 Baby Steps to reflect my personal financial situation. Printed it out and hung it up. After doing this I made some changes in my behavior related to money and spending, but since I know where I am going I do not obsess as much.

    I recommend the book “Total Money Makeover”, but there are other personal finance experts that have plans. Jean Chatzky (oprah.com), David Bach (“Finish Rich” books), Suze Orman and many more. Just pick one that works for you, get started and stick with it, so you can get to where you want to be financially.

    Good Luck!

    • rachelabc28 said

      I totally feel out of control sometimes in regards to my debt. I am reading a good book right now called Spent by Sally Palain. I like it because it looks at the psychological reasons why people spend money. I’ve had to “pause” in reading it because I’m at the point where it’s going to tell me to cut up my credit cards, and I’m not reading for that part.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

