Why it’s cool to be cheap

August 13, 2009

I’ve been noticing lately how everyone is cutting back on expenses.  Not only are they reducing their spending, but they are talking about how they are reducing their spending.  It’s almost like it’s cool to be cheap now.

I used to never say I couldn’t afford something or turn down lunch with a friend because I needed to save money.  I felt too embarrassed. Now, I do it all the time, and I hear a lot of people saying the same thing.

If there is anything good to come out of this recession, maybe this is it.  Maybe people will finally start having an open and honest conversation about their money…not only with themselves, but with others around them.

5 Responses to “Why it’s cool to be cheap”

  1. BDO said

    I hope so too. But those marketers do a good job of making us feel unhappy unless we are better than Mr. and Mrs. Jones. I hope we learn to discern the marketing for what it is and continue to find happiness in our relationships and things that last, instead of stuff.
    Praying for a revival within our finances that leads to more sustainable lifestyle.

  2. rachelabc28 said

    I think we all hope to find happiness not with our possessions but with people. Great advice!

  3. Yellow Piggy said

    I hope they find happiness in themselves and the people around them. I have one friend in particular that is chasing happiness or what she thinks happiness looks like.

    • rachelabc28 said

      Good point about finding happiness with ourselves. I know for me, the major reason why I’m in debt is because I look for happiness outside of myself.

  4. workinmom2009 said

    I am learning the new ways of being cheap and I am not embarrassed to say it. My new buzz word is COUPON!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

