Appreciation

June 11, 2009

I recently read this post about how people in debt don’t really appreciate the things they have because they can always get more or buy something else.  I never thought about that, but it made me start thinking about my purchases.  Since I’ve gotten serious about my money, I am definitely more thoughtful about my purchases.  I think I’ve always appreciated some of my bigger purchases like vacations and expensive dinners, but I know I didn’t appreciate the clothes and more casual dinners that were pretty common occurrences.  

Then, today a friend of mine was telling me about this short story she read.  It was about this guy who died and thought he had gone to Heaven.  He kept making wishes, and they always came true.  Then, he realized he was in Hell because he kept HAVING to make wishes because he could never be satisfied.  How ironic that I just read that post about sacrifices and appreciation and then my friend tells me this story.  It’s like someone is trying to keep me on this path to get out of debt….thanks!

3 Responses to “Appreciation”

  1. BDO said

    Very true! It is kind of sad when you think about it. The people that are in the most hurt by debt, don’t notice or appreciate where the pain is coming from. If only they appreciated what they have, they would find that a lot of the “bleeding” from the budget would stop.

  2. BDO said

    Oh yeah…and then there is this… “Whoever loves money never has money enough; whoever loves wealth is never satisfied with his income. This too is meaningless.” – Ecclesiastes 5:10

  3. JJS said

    I love your post. I agree with all of it. I have charged so many clothes that now I waste time in front of my closet trying to decide what to wear. I have more clothes than I could wear this season. It’s gluttony. Five minutes after the gluttony realization, I am thinking of something else I could have. I have found myself on my favorite retail websites looking to see if there is anything I can buy only to realize I already have everything I like. I am an example of Ecclesiastes 5:10. I found your site in an effort to change.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

